

PRESS FREEDOM AWARD 2012 A SIGNAL FOR EUROPE – PRESS FREEDOM AWARD 2012

issued for Italy

CALL FOR SUBMISSIONS

REPORTERS WITHOUT BORDERS has been offering the annual **PRESS FREEDOM AWARD – A SIGNAL FOR EUROPE** to reporters, journalists and publicists in southeast Europe and the neighbouring states of the European Union since 2001. The prize is offered to critical, informative and investigative publications that cover: politics, press freedom, human rights, corruption, societal issues or related topics. Its target group are principally all publicists, regardless of age or status. The **PRESS FREEDOM AWARD – A SIGNAL FOR EUROPE 2012** is endowed with a total of 6.000 Euros and will go to journalists from Italy.

Jury:

Freimut Duve, the first OSCE Representative for Freedom of the Media Dunja Mijatovic, OSCE Representative for Freedom of the Media Eva Nowotny, President of the Austrian Commission for UNESCO Wolfgang Petritsch, Austrian Ambassador at the OECD in Paris Albert Rohan, Former General Secretary of the Austrian ministry of foreign affairs Rubina Moehring, President of Reporters without Borders Austria

Submission guidelines:

- * The deadline for submissions is 15. September 2012
- * The date of publishing must be between May 3, 2011 and May 3, 2012
- * Letters of reference are of help but not decisive in the evaluation of submissions
- * Detailed letters of reference are obligatory if a life's work is submitted



- * Only one publication can be submitted per person or series, where the following is necessary:
- a. the publication in its original language
- b. an English translation which is authorised by the contender
- c. a CV, written in English
- d. a copy of the piece of work
- e. the above also applies to printed or electronic series, for example series or broadcasts

that align to the awards declared aims. In this case a description of the series or broadcast is needed in addition to an exemplary submission in the relevant medium, which may include the press, radio, television or the internet.

f. if a life's work is handed in, a detailed letter of reference is required.

Printed pieces should be submitted as the original or if digitally, as a scanned copy. Radio

or TV broadcasts should be submitted as cassettes, CDs, DVDs or via Email, depending

on the size of the piece of work. In the case of books we ask for an English translation of

the foreword and that a short statement of intent is included in the letter of reference, which should also be in English.

For further information or inquiries please contact

Hanna Ronzheimer Reporters without Borders Austria Alser Straße 22/8 1090 Vienna, Austria mailto: info@rog.at

Tel. +43 (0)1 581 00 11 (Monday - Thursday 08.30-13.30 h).

For further information regarding the Press Freedom Award – A signal for Europe visit www.rog.at

Reporters without Borders Austria Previous prizewinners:

2002: Petr Uhl/Czech Republik, Agnes Karácsony/Hungary, Jerzy Káliná/Poland

2003: Zeljko Peratovic/Croatia, Milorad Vesic/ Yugoslavia, Jelena Bjelica/Yugoslawia

2004: Alina Anghel/Moldova, Andriy Shevchenko/Ukraine,

Anca Paduraru/Romania

2005: Demet Bilge Ergün/Turkey, Makarios Drousiotis/Cyprus,

Sevgül Uludag/Northern Cyprus

2006: Svetlana Lukic und Svetlana Vukovic/Serbia, Migjen Kelmendi/Kosovo

2008:Kristina Koleva-Tuncheva/Bulgaria, OvidiuVanghele/Romania, Svetlana Ivanova Batalova/Bulgaria

2009: Ganimat Zahidov/Azerbaijan, Eynulla Fatullayev/Azerbaijan, Marianna Grigoryan/Armenia, Batumelebi/Georgia



2010: Mikhail Bekhetov/Russia, Olga Bobrova/Russia 2011: Daniel Pál Rényi/ Hungary, Mária Vásárhelyi/Hungary

